Riverton Parke Agriculture Department Awarded $25,000

The Riverton Parke Agriculture Department received $25,000 through the America’s Farmers Grow Rural Education Grant sponsored by the Bayer Fund.  The check presentation was held Friday, September 27th during halftime of the varsity home football game with agriculture and FFA students, agriculture teachers, and local nominating farmers in attendance.  

The America’s Farmers Grow Rural Education program partners with farmers to nominate their local school district to apply for math and science grants.  Since 2011, the program has given over $18 million to more than 1,000 rural public-school districts. This grant gives farmers the opportunity to support their local rural public school districts.  Farmers who nominated Riverton Parke for this grant included Bill Davies, Zane Davies, Greg Mager, Angie Dickey, Lori Dickey, Malcolm Simpson, Brad Clapp, and Don Mager. 

With this grant money, the agriculture teachers, Micah Humphreys and Michaela Woods, plan on making updates to the greenhouse and the agriculture workshop.  Greenhouse updates will include a new heating and cooling system, irrigation system, benches, and more. Agriculture workshop updates will include a new ventilation system, welders, protective equipment for students, etc.  Both agriculture teachers are very appreciative and thankful for the opportunity to make these updates to the agriculture department. They hope that these updates will be beneficial to both Riverton Parke students and the local community.  They are excited to show off the newly updated greenhouse and workshop next spring.     

The America’s Farmers campaign highlights the importance of modern U.S.

Agriculture through communications and community outreach programs that partner with farmers to impact rural America. To learn more, visit America’s Farmers at www.AmericasFarmers.com.


Pictured during the check presentation include- front row: agriculture students and FFA members- Kyle Price, KayRae Chapman, Natalie Harkrider, Kassidy Stone, Michaela Marion, Emilee Hartzler, agriculture teacher- Michaela Woods, nominating farmer’s family members- Braden Griffin, Brogan Griffin, Kinsley Mager; back row: agriculture teacher- Micah Humphreys, nominating farmers- Angie Dickey, Bob Cleghorn, Malcolm and Sally Simpson, Brad Clapp, Greg Mager, Merna Mager, Justin Mager, Jamie Mager, Olivia Mager, and Perry Mager.